925 silver jewelry & costume jewelery - Omyoki designer jewelry

925 silver is a standard, it equates to a silver content of the jewelry you buy. The silver used to make the jewelry can not be pure 100%, because it would be too soft. In order to work it is added one or more alloy metals, most of the time copper.

In Europe, and in most countries of the world silver jewelry, are 925 silver. It is the 1er silver title, it has minium content of 92,5%. This is also known as Sterling Silver, Sterling Silver 925. Sterling silver, for example, is composed of 92.5% silver and 7.5% copper. Sterling silver is a category of silver for jewelry, in many countries, since the 14th century.

How to recognize 925 silver jewelry?

We recognize 925 silver jewelry with their punch. This punch displays the 925 number. He is struck inside the rings, on the clasps, on the back of the pendants and the earrings, etc. On extremely fine jewelry, it is sometimes impossible to hit this punch, so do not be too surprised.

How reliable is a 925 stamp?

A good question to ask! The 925 stamp is used all over the world but is not always controlled. In France, in Europe, and in Western countries, silver is subject to very strict rules. In France, it is the customs that manage everything related to gold and silver. The 925 stamp is therefore garanteed by strict rules and regulations. The jeweler's own stamp should be found as well on the jewelry.

Some "silver" jewelry that are not real 925 silver

  • Bali silver (Bali silver): very often lower than 925 / 1000
  • Tibetan silver = silver metal with low silver content
  • German silver (German silver): a mix of copper and nickel / zinc containing very little or no silver at all.
  • Silver plated = the jewelry can be made of copper, brass or any metal, whith a thin layer of silver coating. This layer of silver may have various thickness, depending the quality of the jewelry. Silver plated jewelry are plated with 925 silver in Europe and Western countries.

Ring in silver hammered - 4 rings Rose quartz cabochon ring Omyoki thick dragon silver bracelet

Check out 925 silver jewelry photos on our Instagram.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

×

A question? Chat with us on Whatsapp or send us an email infos@omyoki.com

×

Bijoux argent 925 & bijoux fantaisie - Bijoux de créateurs Omyoki

L’argent 925 est une norme, elle équivaut à une teneur en argent des bijoux que vous achetez. L’argent qui sert à la fabrication des bijoux ne peut être pur à 100%, car il serait trop mou. Afin de pouvoir le travailler on lui ajoute un ou plusieurs métaux d’alliage, du cuivre la plupart du temps.

En Europe, et dans la plupart des pays du monde les bijoux en argent, sont en argent 925. C’est l’argent 1er titre, il a teneur minium de 92,5%. C’est aussi ce qu’on appelle argent sterling, de l’anglais Sterling Silver 925. L’argent sterling, par exemple, est composé de 92.5 % d’argent et 7.5 % de cuivre. L’argent sterling est une catégorie d’argent pour les bijoux, dans beaucoup de pays, et ce depuis le 14ème siècle.

Comment reconnaître les bijoux en argent 925?

On reconnaît les bijoux en argent 925 grâce à leur poinçon. Ce poinçon affiche le chiffre 925. Il est frappé à l’intérieur des bagues, sur les fermoirs, à l’arrière des pendentifs et des boucles d’oreilles, etc. Sur les bijoux extrêmement fins, il est parfois impossible de frapper ce poinçon, ne soyez donc pas trop étonné.

Quelles est la fiabilité du poinçon 925?

Une bonne question à se poser! Le poinçon 925 est apposé partout dans le monde mais n’est pas toujours contrôlé. En France, en Europe, et dans les pays Occidentaux, l’argent est soumis à des règles très strictes. En France, ce sont les bureaux de garantie des douanes qui gèrent tout ce qui concerne l’or et l’argent. Le poinçon 925 est donc accompagné de garanties supplémentaires, par le biais de poinçons d’importateur ou de garantie. Deux poinçons qui font foie de la qualité des bijoux. Le poinçon du bijoutier doit donc accompagner le poinçon 925 afin qu’il soit fiable.

Les appellations « argent », qui ne sont pas de l’argent 925

  • Argent de Bali (Bali silver) : teneur très souvent inférieure à 925/1000
  • Argent tibétain = métal argenté avec une faible teneur en argent
  • Argent allemand (German silver) : alliage de cuivre et de nickel/zinc contenant très peu ou pas d’argent.
  • Plaqué argent = le bijou peut être en cuivre, en laiton ou un alliage quelconque, auquel on applique un fine couche d’argent. Cette couche de plaquage sera plus ou moins épaisse, selon la qualité du bijou. C’est de l’argent 925 qui sera utilisé en Europe et dans les pays occidentaux.

 

Bague tournante en argent martelé - 4 anneaux Bague quartz rose cabochon Bracelet argent dragon épais Omyoki

Découvrez des photos de bijoux argent 925 sur notre Instagram.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *