The mysterious history of Tibetan jewelry

Tibetan jewelry, history, photos, Tibetan jewelry online

Our Tibetan jewelry does not come from Tibet but is made by Tibetans in refugee communities in northern India or Nepal. Large Tibetan communities have fled Tibet, annexed by China in the 50 years, to establish themselves in India and Nepal. Moreover, the Dalai Lama and the Tibetan government in exile are in Dharamsala, in northern India.

The soul of Tibetan jewelry

Jewelry has never been worn by Tibetans just to embellish themselves. Indeed, Tibetan jewelry is linked to Buddhism, or serves as amulets. Today the most famous in the West are the mala necklaces / bracelets, a sort of Tibetan rosary that the monks string out by reciting their 100 prayers (108 beads: 100 prayers and 8 omissions). These malas are now available in necklaces, multi-wrap bracelets or thin bracelets, also called lucky bracelets or zen bracelets.

Amulets and lucky doors

In time the jewels held places of bank reserve, or indicator of social status. Most of the jewels made of precious metals, silver or gold, were considered auspicious and lucky. In southern Tibet, a woman who did not wear an ornamental headdress was a sign of bad luck. This led the women to sleep with their huge headdresses until the 50 years.

Tibetan jewelry, social symbol

For men, jewelry was a symbol of their position in society. Like the gun, sword, and saddle, a man's amulet was an indicator of social status. "Gun, sword", I can see your surprise from here, but yes some Tibetans were great fighters. The Tibetans of Kham, better known as Khampa / Khamba, are traditionally known as the warriors of Tibet. The Khampa follow another known branch of Buddhism.

Whether from Beijing or Lhasa, the Khampa have always resisted foreigners. Throughout their long history, Khampa fought against anyone trying to settle in their area. At the beginning of the XNIXXth century, several European and American explorers were killed by the Khampa - including Jules-Léon Dutreuil of Rhins, Louis Victor Liotard and Albert Shelton. Kham is one of the three main regions of Tibet. The Kham is 20 times bigger than Sweden or California.

Contemporary Tibetan jewelry

The bags are very popular in Europe and the West. These necklaces / bracelets are meditation supports and are used to count the “Om mane padme um”. Tibetans also make very pretty prayer box pendants, in solid silver.

Find our pretty photos on Instagram and our Jewelry online.

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

La mystérieuse histoire des bijoux tibétains

Bijoux tibétains, histoire, photos, bijoux tibétains en ligne

Nos bijoux tibétains ne viennent pas du Tibet mais sont plutôt fabriqués par des tibétains dans les communautés de réfugiés basés en Inde du nord ou au Népal. De grandes communautés tibétaines ont fuis le Tibet, annexé par la Chine dans les années 50, pour s’implanter en Inde et au Népal. D’ailleurs, le Dalaï-lama et le gouvernement tibétain en exil, se trouvent à Dharamsala, au nord de l’Inde.

L’âme des bijoux tibétains

Les bijoux n’ont jamais été portés par les tibétains juste pour s’embellir. En effet, les bijoux tibétains sont liés au bouddhisme, ou servent d’amulettes. Aujourd’hui les plus connus en Occident sont les colliers / bracelets mala, sorte de chapelet tibétain que les moines égrainent en récitant leurs 100 prières (108 perles : 100 prières et 8 oublis). Ces malas sont maintenant déclinés en colliers, en bracelets multi-tours ou bracelets fins, aussi appelés bracelets porte-bonheur ou bracelets zen.

Amulettes et portes-chance

Dans le temps les bijoux tenaient lieux de réserve bancaire, ou d’indicateur de statut social. La plupart des bijoux faits de métaux précieux, en argent ou en or, étaient considérés comme de bonne augure et porte-chance. Dans le sud du Tibet, une femme qui ne portait pas de coiffe ornementale était signe de malchance. Cela conduisit les femmes à dormir avec leurs énormes coiffes jusqu’aux années 50.

Les bijoux tibétains, symbole social

Pour les hommes, les bijoux étaient un symbole de leur position dans la société. De même que l’arme à feu, l’épée et la selle, l’amulette d’un homme était un indicateur de statut social. « Arme à feu, épée », je vois d’ici votre surprise mais oui certains tibétains étaient de grands combattants. Les Tibétains du Kham, mieux connus sous le nom de Khampa / Khamba, sont traditionnellement connus comme les guerriers du Tibet. Les Khampa suivent une autre branche du bouddhisme connus.

Que ce soit de Pékin ou de Lhassa, les Khampa ont toujours résisté aux étrangers. Tout au long de leur longue histoire, les Khampa ont combattu tous ceux qui essayaient de s’installer dans leur région. Au début du 20ème siècle, plusieurs explorateurs européens et américains furent tués par les Khampa – dont Jules-Léon Dutreuil de Rhins, Louis Victor Liotard et Albert Shelton. Le Kham est l’une des trois principales régions du Tibet. Le Kham est 2 fois plus grand que la Suède ou la Californie.

Les bijoux tibétains contemporains

Les malas sont très prisés en Europe et en Occident. Ces colliers / bracelets sont des supports de méditation et servent à compter les « Om mane padme um ». Les tibétains fabriquent aussi de très jolis pendentifs boîte à prières, en argent massif.

Retrouvez nos jolies photos sur Instagram et nos bijoux en ligne.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *